A View of the World Through the Thoughts and Lens of Scott Kasper

Quiet Day in Galilee.

Being that today is Friday, we were advised to make sure that we stock up the refrigerator this morning, as most of the stores will close early for Shabbat and will not reopen until late tomorrow or Sunday. So we let the boys sleep in late…wait…let’s be honest….we let Rachel sleep in late this morning and then took a trip to the grocery store.

After the cupboards were filled and we had lunch, I headed out with Matt, Ryan and Jake for a boys afternoon at the shore. Now back home that would mean a trip to Wildwood or perhaps Point Pleasant….ice cream, rides on the board walk, and urgent sprints across the hot sand because Jake waits until the VERY last minute to tell us he needs a bathroom NOW!! Well, that did not happen today.

Today was a drive to the shores of the Sea of Galilee…about 10 minutes from the house in which we are staying. Below is the Sea of Galilee, also known as Kinneret, also known as Lake Tiberias, with the City of Tiberias in the background.

It was our first venture to the shores of this historic and vitally important body of water. We spent the drive talking about how vital it is to the water supply of the entire Jordan River Valley, and that Israel gets about a third of its water supply from Galilee. We talked about the religious and historic significance and that although we are going to have fun in the Lake, it is a place that should be treated respectfully. I even talked to them about how some of the beach sections may be split between make and female because of the religious beliefs and customs of the ultra-orthodox Jews.

What I failed to describe to them is that some of those same customs are practiced by Muslims as well…and I failed to consider that since I don’t read Hebrew very well, if at all, that I may end up on a predominantly muslim section of beach…and I failed to consider that rather than screaming at me that he had to go to the bathroom, that Jake would scream at me to “look at that lady who was going swimming with her clothes on. Isn’t that silly Dad!?”

Well, I then IMMEDIATELY considered five (yes, 5) things:

  1. First I considered whether or not any of the folks about which he screamed anywhere within hearing distance, and if so
  2. I secondly considered whether or not they heard him, and if so
  3. I thirdly considered whether or not they spoke English, and if so
  4. I fourthly considered how I would make my quick escape back to the car, and finally
  5. I considered how I was going to get a photo of this to help tell the story.

Fortunately I had just attended a class in travel photography taught by two National Geographic Photographers. One of them spoke about the importance of learning how to “shoot from the hip”, or how to hold your camera in such a way that nobody around you will know that you are taking their picture….I guess I learned well!!

I’ll leave you with a parting shot, which is the view we have over the valley in the evening….this taken tonight just after sunset….Shabbat Shalom!

For  the photogs following my antics, this one is a 30 second exposure taken with a 70 mm lens, ISO 100, f/8.

6 responses

  1. Doug

    Scott – I look forward to reading your blog every day to see where you’ve been and to read your interesting stories. It looks like you are having an amazing time!! Your neices and nephew can’t wait to see you next time in hopes that you’ll take them to a military range to shoot a high powered rifle. When you are done with your trip, you should publish your blog!! One for the memories. I look forward to the next post!!

    Doug

    July 23, 2010 at 10:27 pm

    • Doug….Tell them that I would be happy to share a box of M-16 rounds with them any time!!! Glad you like my stories….stay tunes for lots more!!!

      July 23, 2010 at 10:48 pm

  2. What a fantastic journey!
    Wishing you and your family a wonderful trip… thanks for sharing your link.
    I feel like I’m tagging along through your photos and stories.
    Emily

    July 24, 2010 at 9:52 am

  3. Melanie Moultrie

    WOW Scott….I enjoy reading your blog everyday! It’s like… I can’t wait to see what your see or hear what your experienceing over there….When I think of the Sea of Galilee (it always brings a 😉 ) it seems to be something unseen because I’ve only read about it. ENJOY and keep the pictures coming!

    July 26, 2010 at 2:15 pm

  4. Cynthia McMillan Scott

    Hi Scott: I am Melanie’s mom. Your stories and pictures are breath taking. I have read and receive info from The Fellowship about Israel and hope to go some day. You and your family continue to enjoy and be safe.

    July 26, 2010 at 5:43 pm

  5. Melissa Foat

    Hello Scott,
    Melanie Moultrie is my older sister.LOL! I am so glad that she shared your blog page with me. I have forwarded it to a few good friends and we are all enjoying through your eyes the Israel and the many sites. The Sea of Galilee is very beautiful. The Pic’s are great keep them coming. God bless you and your family.

    August 20, 2010 at 11:38 pm

Leave a Reply

