A View of the World Through the Thoughts and Lens of Scott Kasper

New Images for the New Year

1-1-11

That was yesterday’s date…January 1, 2011. What a cool way to be able to numerically describe the new year (and by the way,  it’s NOT “New Years”…it makes me nuts when people say that…it’s only one year that is new, therefore the “s” at the end can be left off!!).

It deserves a toast: May 2011 be a year filled with health, happiness and prosperity. May creativity and creative opportunity abound!

2011 is new year with new beginnings and, I am sure, new challenges. But with the coming of the new year, reflections of the year gone by give one the opportunity to remember the important things that make us so lucky in life. With respect specifically to photography, already the new year has given me the opportunity to reflect and remember.

Over the past year or so, my photography has taken me down the path of people. Whether weddings, engagements, babies and kids, or family portraits my work has been focused on the human world. I love that work and truly love some of the remarkable images that I have captured. I am grateful for the people who have chosen to include me in their lives and allowed me to help document their moments “on film” (or, using today’s technology, in pixels).

Yesterday, my sons and I took a spur-of-the-moment trip to meet my parents, my brother and sister-in-law and their kids at Longwood Gardens in Kennet Square, Pennsylvania. Longwood is a most beautiful place with acre after acre of manicured and sculpted formal gardens and an indoor conservatory filled with acres of flowers of all types, sizes, shapes and colors. In reflecting on why I love photography and began shooting seriously several years ago, I remember that my love of floral photography is the root (pardon the pun) of it all. So I am pleased that the start of my 2011 included the opportunity to get back to my photographic roots (am I using the pun too much?) and fill my memory card (formerly a roll of film) with the wonders that Mother Natures bestows upon us. Below are a few of my favorite images from yesterday’s adventure at Longwood Gardens.

Upon further reflection, I also thought I would share with you a random handful of my favorite images (specifically not including images of my own children) from throughout 2010. There are so many that I really like…it would be impossible to include them all. The images below each have a particular significance in my life, even though they may be images of others. I hope you enjoy! By the way –  feel free to take the time to leave a comment if any of these are included in your favorites from 2010!

That’s Philadelphia above and Boston below.

Here’s looking forward to a wonderful 2011 documented through digital imagery!

2 responses

  1. Thank you for including Kyle’s Fighter photo! I can not tell you how much that photo has really touched people! Every single time a person sees that photo that tell me how blown away they are by it! I love how one single photo has truly expressed who Kyle is! That is why as you know that has become our campaign photo so to speech and also our motto! Thank you again Scott and I look forward to working with you again!

    January 2, 2011 at 8:14 pm

  2. Mary Brooks

    I LOVE ALL YOUR PICS BUT I HAVE TO SAY MY FAVORITE IS KYLE & LIAM THATS JUST HOW NANNY THINKS! YOU DID A BEAUTIFUL JOB & WHEN I STILL LOOK @ THE PICS I HAVE TEARS IN MY EYES EVERYTIME!:)

    THANK YOU SOOO MUCH

    January 2, 2011 at 10:00 pm

Leave a Reply

