A View of the World Through the Thoughts and Lens of Scott Kasper

I Don’t Like Greeting Cards, but I Love My Wife!

Chanukah is a distant memory. Christmas 2010 has come and gone, and we have all recovered from our 2011 New Year celebrations. In the world of retail America that means only one thing…the stores are already decked out with the pink and red decoration of Valentine’s Day! I noticed this during my recent trip to the grocery store, where the aisles are already stocked with heart shaped boxes of chocolates and the shelves of cards are now dominated by mushy expressions of love and requests to “be my valentine”.

It caused me to think.

In the Edmond Rostand play Cyrano de Bergerac, Christian relied on the eloquence and assistance of Cryano to express his love to the woman of his dreams. In the movie Roxanne, based on that famed play and titled after its heroine, Chris McConnell needed that same help from his Fire Chief, C.D. Bales (played by Steve Martin). The play will go down in history as one of the classics, and the 1987 movie, in my opinion, was hilarious. I am a huge Steve Martin fan!!

Stepping outside of the Broadway lights and Hollywood sign, life in 2011 seems to be not much different. When Valentine’s Day comes around millions of people throughout the world rely on today’s real life version of Cyrano and C.D. Bales; The greeting card! Beginning in 1910, Joyce C. Hall began helping others express their feelings when he launched the Hallmark Company (known as Hall Brothers until 1928). Since then the company has evolved, and the chain of Hallmark stores is actually filled with a variety of festive home decorations and a candy case to die for…in general it fills a perfect niche market. However, as someone who holds himself out as a romantic, I don’t like Hallmark cards!

I do, however love my wife. I’m not ashamed to state that here on the world wide web (do we even use that term any more? I’ll have to ask Al Gore), and I also enjoy figuring out creative and personal ways to express that to her (evidenced by photos in today’s blog). I don’t mean to imply that it’s always easy. It’s not. The fact is that the expression must be a combination of words and actions…the actions cannot be underestimated and must be sustained over time, but my purpose today is to focus on those occasions when the words are important…like Valentine’s Day. Finding the right words is often a challenge, but meeting that challenge helps to sustain the foundation of the relationship. Meeting that challenge forces one to think about one’s feelings and to strategize about the most effective and meaningful way to express them. As challenging as it may be, I can earnestly say that each year I try!

Frankly, Hallmark has taken the romance out of the love affair. It has become all to easy for us to simply run to the store, pick out a card, sign it, stuff it in an envelope, stick it in the top of a bouquet of flowers and present it as a testament of our love and devotion. Where’s the challenge in that? More importantly, where is the creativity, inspiration, and personalization that should be the true expression of our feelings?

So on this Valentine’s Day 2011 I issue a challenge to all of you, and you have 29 days within which it must be completed. Don’t buy a card! Don’t succumb to the American way of life dictated by the path of least resistance and the convenience store! Don’t be lazy! Be creative. Be proactive. Be personal. Be inspired. You’ve now seen some of my past expressions. Now it’s your turn. Create something unique for your loved one on Valentine’s Day…I already have my plan in the works for this year!

2 responses

  1. Rose

    I don’t have an ounce of creativity in my body!!! I’ll have to rely on Hallmark.

    January 17, 2011 at 8:59 am

  2. Margaret

    Scott, I am already working on this for my son’s school valentines. Hint: it will include a heart, but will not be heart-shaped.

    February 4, 2011 at 10:43 pm

Leave a Reply

