A View of the World Through the Thoughts and Lens of Scott Kasper

From generation to generation!

It was the summer of 2010. My oldest son Matthew had turned 13 and completed his right of passage to Jewish adulthood by becoming bar mitzvah in our synagogue here in South Jersey. That was the first half of his journey, as he would soon thereafter read Torah at the Kotel, or Western Wall, in Jerusalem later that summer. My son Ryan, now almost 13 prepares to return to that same spot in Jerusalem where he will read Torah in just a few weeks from now.
Matt is my oldest and therefore my first son to have completed this journey. At the time I felt as though there is no way it could ever get better than the feeling I had watching him and listening to him as he developed from boy to young man right before my eyes.

Fast forward a few years…the journey begins again, and I have to say that I am experiencing the exact same emotions and thoughts…it’s déjà vous all over again as my middle son Ryan has officially started this journey of his own.
Why officially? He’s been studying (and I must say extremely well!) for months. He has mastered his service, his torah, his D’var Torah (speech reflective of what he has learned in studying Torah), and more. So why has his journey officially begun? To understand that, I have to bring you back 31 years. When I was taking this journey, my dad started what I have now passed along to the next generation…and hope that my sons do the same…we say l’dor v’dor…from generation to generation.

Every young bar mitzvah student requires a few items before the big day arrives, namely a yarmulke, a Tallit (prayer shawl) and Teffilin. When I was 12 years old and preparing to become Bar Mitvah (which in Hebrew literally means son of the commandments) my dad took me on a pilgrimage. We loaded ourselves in the car and headed to Yankee Stadium!

Okay – important clarification for any of you who have come to know me as the consummate Boston sports fan – I grew up in Southern Connecticut where sports allegiances are evenly split between Boston and New York. My dad was and remains a New York sports fan. In addition, 1981 Yankees had a roster that included some of the all time great players and personalities of baseball history…Goose Gossage, Tommy John, Lou Pinella, Bucky Dent, Reggie Jackson and more. We went to a double header…I have no idea who they played…I just know that I’ll never forget the double header at Yankee Stadium with my dad!

Before the game, however, we went to Manhattan’s East Side where pickle barrels on the street, kosher delis and judaica shoppes were abundant. We went into a shoppe where an older man with a skull cap, thick white beard, and heavy eastern European accent helped us pick out the Tallit and yarmulke that I would wear in synagogue on my big day.

At the time, to me, this part of the day was just an errand. It was something we needed to do just like we needed to buy my suit and get some new shoes. It was watching Reggie Jackson come to home plate that was more important to me at the time!

Fast forward to the spring of 2010. There was no way that my son Matt would take his journey to becoming bar mitzvah without first taking a journey to a baseball game and judaica shoppe with his dad…and of course his grandfather! Given our allegiances to Boston sports, we made the trek from South Jersey to Fenway Park and the judaica shoppes of Brookline, Massachusetts. I venture to guess that it was a trio Matt will never forget.

Now it’s Ryan’s turn. We’re here in Boston again and he’s loving every minute of it. He’s an avid soccer fan, so the New England Revolution was the sporting choice of the trip. This morning we will head to Brookline with my dad and we will get Ryan the items he will need for his Jewish life.

Here’s the more important task for today – we will hopefully instill in Ryan the desire to make this pilgrimage 30 years from now with one of his children. The religious aspect is important, and shouldn’t be diminished. However, the simple tradition is far more important…l’dor v’dor…from generation to generation…it’s simply good stuff!

Stay tuned to this blog…it will continue with stories and photos from our upcoming journey to Israel…we can’t wait and hope you’ll enjoy coming along with us…

5 responses

  1. Congratulations to your son! I enjoyed reading about your last trip and I am sure I will enjoy it just as much this time!

    Rose

    August 5, 2012 at 8:15 am

  2. What a wonderful tradition . . .the story of generation to generation made me tear . . .have a fun day as you make memories along the way today . . .and God bless you each and every one . . .

    August 5, 2012 at 8:29 am

  3. Rosie

    What a beautiful tradition!!! Wish we had a special tradition in our Italian family. You must be soooo very proud of your sons! Tell Dad I’m glad to hear that he is a Yankee Fan!!!

    August 6, 2012 at 8:52 am

  4. We are looking forward to celebrating with you here in the Holy Land. I like the way you discuss the trip as a ‘journey’. I would also call it a pilgrimmage. More on that when we meet in Israel!

    L’hit,

    Rabbi David

    August 6, 2012 at 4:17 pm

  5. Pingback: We’re Heading Back: Israel 2012 « Images and Imagination

Leave a Reply

